Department Chair: Eric J Krieg

The Sociology Department offers one major (a bachelor of arts) and three minor programs (in sociology, deviance, and environment and society).

The bachelor of arts in sociology presents a general program to prepare students for a wide variety of positions in business, industry, government, health-related services, or social services. The sociology minor enables students to focus on areas of sociological interest.

The minor in deviance explores the nature of deviant behavior and related theoretical perspectives and societal reactions. This minor is especially attractive to criminal justice students.

The minor in environment and society offers comprehensive interdisciplinary study of "human-environment" interactions, providing the skills to think holistically about environmental problems and solutions.