The 6th Cross-Border Post Keynesian Conference


… It is ideas, not vested interests, which are dangerous for good or evil.

-- J. M. Keynes

Click here for the conference program

About The Conference

The Economics and Finance Department at SUNY Buffalo State invites papers and participants for the 2017 Cross-Border Post Keynesian Conference, to be held on June 19-20. Following the tradition of the Conference, which has previously been held in Vermont, Ottawa, Montreal, Buffalo, and Toronto, we are encouraging Post Keynesian scholarship. The general theme of the Conference is “Populism, Heterodoxy, and Globalization.” The Conference is also open to all heterodox economic perspectives and topics.

The purpose of the conference is to bring academics, financial, business, political and community leaders together to focus on how to make the economy work better for middle-class and working-class families.

The keynote speaker is Professor John F. Henry, the recipient of the 2017 Veblen-Commons Award from the Association for Evolutionary Economics, Senior Scholar at the Levy Economics Institute, and Professor Emeritus at California State University, Sacramento.

Other distinguished participants include: Jan Kregel (Levy Institute, US), L. Randall Wray (Levy Institute, US), Mario Seccareccia (University of Ottawa, Canada), John Smithin (York University, Canada), and Robert Dimand (Brock University, Canada).

Registration/Payment and Donation Information

Presenters/Participants Register:

Purchase a Single Ticket or a Table to the Conference Dinner Reception

Purchase an advertisement in the conference program:

Donate to the PK Conference (Donors: Please select 300226 Economics and Finance Department Fund):

For further information and queries, contact the conference organizing committee at

Conference Location & Accommodations

The conference will take place on campus at SUNY Buffalo State, Buffalo, NY, 14222

The reception dinner, June 19, will be held adjacent to campus at Hotel Henry, Corner of Rockwell Road and Cleveland Circle, Buffalo, NY, 14213.

Hotel Henry is offering discounted rates for our group until June 1: use code CROSS when booking:

Conference Committees & Sponsors

Conference Organizing Committee

Joelle Leclaire, Tae-Hee Jo, Ted Schmidt, Victor Kasper, Curtis Haynes, Frederick Floss, and Bruce Fisher

SUNY Economics Scientific Committee

Paul Zarembka (University of Buffalo), Alan Haight (SUNY Cortland), Flavia Dantas (SUNY Cortland), Benjamin Wilson (SUNY Cortland), Laura Ebert (SUNY New Paltz), Francisco Martinez (SUNY New Paltz), Mona Ali, SUNY New Paltz, Joelle Leclaire (SUNY Buffalo State), Tae-Hee Jo (SUNY Buffalo State), Curtis Haynes (SUNY Buffalo State), Victor Kasper (SUNY Buffalo State), Ted Schmidt (SUNY Buffalo State), Bill Ganley (SUNY Buffalo State), Susan Davis (SUNY Buffalo State), Bruce Fisher (SUNY Buffalo State).

Special Thanks

This conference is sponsored by the generous support of:

Office of Equity and Campus Diversity

The Office of the Provost

The School of Social and Natural Sciences

The School of the Professions

The Department of Economics and Finance

The Economics Club

Edward Elgar Publishers

W. W. Norton